Simeon Van Winkle Post

On Family Search there are two sets of parents for my one ancestor Simeon Van Winkle Post:

1)  John Bell Post (born about 1801 in Georgia) and Nancey Rigsby (born about 1794 prob in Georgia) or

2)  Cornelis Post (born 1796 in New Jersey) and Sarah Van Winkle (born about 1789 in New Jersey).

After looking through some census records and googling Simeon Van Winkle Post and Mary Kane I found that Cornelius Post and Sarah Van Winkle were in fact, Simeon’s parents.  I went into Simeon’s summary on new.familysearch.org

Then I clicked on “Combined Records” and it gave me this screen (below).  This shows all of the records that have been submitted and then combined into one individual.  There were about 30 records that were combined to make this one individual.

In a previous post I discussed the problem with Simeon’s multiple wives that appeared to be incorrectly linked to him.  I asked my family if they knew exactly who he was really married to.  My aunt responded with a lot of really interesting and useful information.  She told me that he was first married to Elizabeth Cochran (Corcoran) and raised two sons as his own (whether they were really his we don’t know).  He later married my ancestor Mary Kane and they had 5 children together. My aunt also told me about a book that was written about him and some of his ancestors called Sweet Tootin’.  With all of this information I went into the above combined records page and looked through each of the records.  I found that there seemed to be 2 distinct individuals that had been combined as one.  The other man that had been mistakenly combined with my ancestor was Simon Post born about 1823 in Alabama, he was married to the other 3 women that my ancestor Simeon was not married to.  I selected all of the records that corresponded to Simon Post of Alabama and then clicked separate records.  And voila!!  Problem solved.  Simeon is now only married to 2 women and has the correct number of children.  What a great feeling to have that all sorted out!!

5 Comments

Filed under Research

5 responses to “Simeon Van Winkle Post

  1. Becky Boone

    Good detective work! Thanks for being on top of this.

  2. Welcome to the Geneabloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill 😉
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories” and family sagas
    and “Back to the Homeplace” and “The Homeplace Revisited”
    http://thehomeplaceseries.blogspot.com/
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

  3. Often there is so much erroneous information in the online family trees. It takes a good detective to sort it out and find the Sources to form the correct decision. The hard part is getting the erroneous info updated.
    Regards,
    Theresa (Tangled Trees)

  4. Being Dutch I like to know whether the surnames Van Winkle, Post and Schenck are of Dutch origin. If so, members of Dutch branches of these names may be interested to make contact with you. For that purpose I have a blog post where I could mention your site. You can find it here: http://patmcast.blogspot.com/2012/05/dutch-ancestors.html. Your reaction will be appreciated. You may reach me at patmiebies at gmail dot com.
    Regards,
    Peter

Leave a comment